Skip to content

Ice In Northern Inland Sea

December 17, 2010

Not sure if it is here to stay, but there is a pressure crack already, which says it has some substance. If the wind doesn’t come up in the next couple of days, this might be it.

I am going to try to keep up on the ice reports, but I never will tell you the ice is safe. I wouldn’t go out on this yet, simply because of the open water you can see near shore. But there are people fishing in the bays already around Alburg, North Hero, and Isle La Motte.

I will try to make ice reports a steady part of this blog while I slog through the paper on seiches in the thermoclines in the Broad Lake. I would like to go into a little more depth than reported here, though it is accurate as far as it goes, and if possible, find something in the original paper fishermen can actually use. Hopefully, I can have an article by next week.

UPDATE: Ice largely broken up, but not entirely.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 18, 2010 11:37 am

    The Champlain seiche is an interesting topic…I’m looking forward to reading all you can find.

Leave a Reply

