Skip to content

What a difference a week makes

February 21, 2011

A week ago, the Island Ice Fishing Derby was all but ruined by heavy snow on the ice. Shalom Farm made a heroic effort to keep their shanties open for business, and they succeeded where others failed. Here is a picture from last Sunday.

Just for good measure, here is a picture of one of their shanties.

 

Which was toasty warm with the wood heat.

This weekend? People are walking their dogs and skating on the lake, and ice yachting.

 

Needless to say, the ice fishing that most everyone thought was doomed is back on.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 10:52 am

    That’s what I’m talking about.
    But…
    now that I’ve suffered cabin fever, I’m ready for open water.

  2. February 21, 2011 10:59 am

    I know what you mean. As soon as the derby is over, it’s like, come on ice out.

  3. February 22, 2011 4:46 pm

    Hello,
    Lot’s of useful info here. I have a question for you. Every winter I stay at Holiday Harbor to ice fish, it’s always good and we have a blast on pike, pickeral, and bass (it’s this weekend coming up). We always fish shallow, I recently saw a map of the area and noticed the passage is about 30′. If I ventured out there and suspended some baits, on light line, right under the ice, would I have a legitimate shot at salmon and/or trout or would I be wasting my time and energy? Also, what potential does a bait on the bottom have at that depth? Any other hints would be great!
    Thanks,
    Paul J. Martin
    PS. I’m coming all the way from Houston, Texas, so I have to make the most of my time.

    • February 22, 2011 10:28 pm

      There are places to fish for trout not far from Holiday Harbor. If you look at the pictures from the derby I posted last week, you will see some nice ones. They came from the other side of the island, out from the boat launch at north end road. You need a four wheeler to get to the deep water though.

      Bruce at Holiday Harbor is an expert on this stuff though, having grown up in the area. You may also want to try the Broad Lake, on the other side of the Alburg Peninsula for trout and maybe salmon. The most reliable through the ice salmon I know of come from down at the Sand Bar, south end of Grande Isle, and might be worth the trip. 30 mins, if your heart is set on salmon.

      This link is to a board full of knowledgeable fisherman who can help you better than I can. Register and dive in. They are friendly. My ice fishing is usually limited to perch, which I enjoy both the catching and the eating.

      http://cjohn2979.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=Forum

      Another good link
      http://www.lakechamplainangler.com/

Leave a Reply

